jump to navigation

VONA Day 2 06/22/2010

Posted by jamie-m in Uncategorized.
trackback

Physical and emotional exhaustion hit most of the group by the end of today. We spent four hours workshopping three pieces, and additional time in our small groups. Those of us who had memoirs up for today read with shaky hands and staccato breaths, surprised by our nervousness.

I’m happy to say that my memoir was well received. Instead of explaining aspects of my culture like I normally have to do in a college classroom, my group mates got to the heart of the story, and pinpointed the things I was missing. It will take me a long time to absorb all the feedback I got today, but revising is supposed to start immediately!

In class we read “An Indian Education” by Sherman Alexie, a quick witted and heartfelt reflection on one’s experiences during grade school. As assignment for tonight, I must write about my own education. I spent three hours in the VONA lounge thinking and drafting ideas about first grade. I’ve got a slow pace. And a long way to go.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

