jump to navigation

VONA Writers Workshop, Day 1 06/21/2010

Posted by jamie-m in Uncategorized.
trackback

I made it! Here in a beautiful part of San Francisco lies the University of SF, home to the VONA writers of color for the next two weeks. (I’m only here for one). I started my journey here by getting a little lost on the campus while dragging my three bags behind me. After checking in with the dorm folks, I headed to our “VONA lounge,” our big group meeting room. Diem Jones, one of the founders of VONA, gave us a run down on the basics and introduced the amazing faculty. Elmaz Abinader- which is the instructor I’m working with – led us in a quick exercise.

She began by spreading out a roll of paper along the length of the room. She then told us we would engage in a quick exercise. In a poem-style, we were to write five things: our name, what tribe we belong to/ who we identify with, what we are not, what are ancestors were telling us, and how we felt in that moment.

Many people here are from the East Bay – many have the same friends, or friends of friends. In some corners of the room, it was like watching a mini reunion of those who were alumni. It it easy for me, of course, to become a quiet observer; only occasionally startled by another newcomer introducing themselves.

I can’t wait to see what the week brings. My workshop piece is up second tomorrow morning.

Comments»

1. Susan Bono - 06/22/2010

Outside the main flow or riding its most intimate currents–it all sounds good! Can’t wait to hear how you’ll “position” yourself by the end of the week! Have a wonderful time!


Leave a Reply

