jump to navigation

Graduation is Coming… 04/30/2010

Posted by jamie-m in Uncategorized.
trackback

…which means I’m running around like a hyper child trying to get all my work done for my senior project! I am reading a list of books that have do do with the mixed race experience (since it is those books that I feel have most impacted my own identity as a writer). These include McBride’s Color of Water, Zadie Smith’s White Teeth, Danzy Senna’s Caucasia and Symptomatic, and Heidi Durrow’s The Girl Who Fell From the Sky. I really recommend Durrow’s novel- it just came out this year and is pretty great. She and Fanshen Cox founded the Mixed Roots Literary and Film Festival which takes place June 12-13th in Los Angeles. I’m hoping to go, if I can somehow get the funds together. In 2008, they awarded James McBride and Kip Fulbeck (another mixed writer and artist) with the Loving Prize, an honorary award they created for the festival. Check it out!

Plus: does anyone have book recommendations to add to my list?

A way belated CONGRATS to the winners of the Tiny Light’s Essay Contest. I was honored to read and help judge the entries, as well as inspired by the level of talent I was witness to. Can’t wait to see some of these in the upcoming issue!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

